MACC Member Students Named as 2017 Newman Civic Fellows

Campus Compact has announced the student leaders who will make up the 2017 Newman Civic Fellows. This select group includes 13 from MACC member campuses, who will be part of a one-year fellowship for community-committed students.

The fellowship honors the late Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders and a tireless advocate for civic engagement in higher education. In the spirit of Dr. Newman’s leadership, Campus Compact member presidents and chancellors are annually invited to nominate one undergraduate or graduate student who has worked to find solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country and abroad.

The 2017 Newman Civic Fellows are first cohort to benefit from a redesigned fellowship experience emphasizing personal, professional, and civic growth. Through the fellowship, Campus Compact provides a variety of learning and networking opportunities, including a national conference of Newman Civic Fellows in partnership with the Edward M. Kennedy Institute for the United States Senate in Boston. The fellowship also provides students with access to exclusive scholarships and postgraduate opportunities.

MACC sends warm congratulations to the 13 member students named as 2017 Newman Civic Fellows:

  • Kyle Bueno, Bridgewater State University
  • Daniel Rodrigues, Bristol Community College
  • Christina Chin, Greenfield Community College
  • Stephanie Houten, Massachusetts College of Art and Design
  • Maggie Whited, Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts
  • Andrea Hernandez, Mount Holyoke College
  • Jana Murphy, Mount Wachusett Community College
  • Jesse Perkins, North Shore Community College
  • Bryan McCarthy, Simmons College
  • Jermel Wright, Stonehill College
  • Andrew King, University of Massachusetts Boston
  • Callie Nunez, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
  • Keaton Schrank, Wheaton College

See the full list of Newman Civic Fellows from Campus Compact members across the country.

Photo: Christina Chin, Greenfield Community College