17 MACC Member Students Named Newman Civic Fellows

Campus Compact has named 17 students from MACC member colleges and universities as Newman Civic Fellows for 2014. This national award honors undergraduates who have the motivation and ability to make substantial contributions toward public problem solving.

Newman Civic Fellows are nominated by their campus president or chancellor on the basis of their demonstrated investment in the community. Following are the 17 Massachusetts Newman Civic Fellows, by campus. You can view brief profiles with descriptions of each student’s work.

  • Babson College: Alexander Woodhouse
  • Bay Path College: Heidi Jo Rheaume
  • Berkshire Community College: Erin Breen
  • Brandeis University: Sophie Brickman
  • Bristol Community College: Anne Brum
  • Clark University: Alex Marshall
  • Greenfield Community College: Cynthia Curtis
  • Massachusetts College of Art and Design: Pippa Adam
  • Massachusetts College of Liberal Arts: Deanna Boucher
  • Mount Holyoke College: Michaella Coughlin
  • Mount Wachusett Community College: Kathleen Matson
  • North Shore Community College: Pamela Arsenault
  • Springfield College: Jasmine Jiles
  • Stonehill College: Matthew Attaya
  • University of Massachusetts Dartmouth: Jacob Miller
  • Worcester State University: Margaret Rizzo, Ashley Tocci

The Massachusetts students join a pool of 197 Civic Fellows from across the country working to tackle community challenges. This year, these students will leverage an even greater capacity for service and change through an online community established exclusively for Newman Civic Fellows. In keeping with their generation’s emphasis on networks over hierarchies, this online community will allow the Fellows to share ideas and resources to further their work.

“These students represent the next generation of public problem solvers and civic leaders,” notes James B. Dworkin, Campus Compact board chair and chancellor of Purdue University North Central. “They serve as national examples of the role that higher education can—and does—play in building a better world.”

The Newman Civic Fellows award is generously sponsored by the KPMG Foundation. “We are proud to support Campus Compact in bringing attention to these extraordinary students,” says Bernard J. Milano, president of the KPMG Foundation and a Campus Compact board member. “With this recognition, Campus Compact is highlighting the remarkable impact these students are having on their campuses and communities.”