Campus Compact Awards

Below is information on Campus Compact’s faculty and student awards. You’ll also find awards of particular interest to MACC members from organizations with which Massachusetts Campus Compact has affiliations or partnerships. For information on other awards, see our Resources section.

Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award

About the Ehrlich Award

Campus Compact’s Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) at a Campus Compact member college or university each year. Honorees are recognized for exemplary engaged scholarship, including leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, building institutional commitments to service-learning and civic engagement, and other means of enhancing higher education’s contributions to the public good.

The award is named in honor of Thomas Ehrlich, former chair of the Campus Compact board of directors and president emeritus of Indiana University. The award is generously sponsored by the KPMG Foundation. You’ll find additional detail on nomination criteria, history and the application, at the national Campus Compact website.

Leda Cooks of UMass Amherst Earns 2014 Award

Campus Compact has chosen Leda Cooks, Professor of Communications at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, to receive the 2014 Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award. Dr. Cooks was chosen from a strong national pool of applicants for her exemplary leadership in advancing students’ civic learning, supporting community engagement, and contributing to the public good. Read more about Dr. Cooks’ work.

Massachusetts Campus Compact extends its warm congratulations to Dr. Cooks for receiving this well-earned national honor. We’d also like to take a moment to acknowledge the work of all of our member faculty, administrators, staff, and students whose dedication and knowledge help strengthen our communities.

Newman Civic Fellows Award for Students

The Newman Civic Fellows Award honors inspiring college student leaders who have demonstrated an investment in finding solutions for challenges facing communities throughout the country. Newman Civic Fellows are recommended by college and university presidents to acknowledge motivation and ability in public leadership. Each Campus Compact member campus may nominate an exemplary student to receive this prestigious award.

See the full list of 2016 Newman Civic Fellows from MACC member campuses.

See profiles of the 2014 Newman Civic Fellows from MACC member campuses.